Companies are responsible only for making money for their investors. Therefore, they should not be held accountable for the environmental and social costs of their business activity to society as a whole. Businesses should do more than concentrate on making profit. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

It is widely believed that enterprises should not only focus on generating (tạo) revenue but also should fulfil their social obligations. I completely agree with this notion (quan điểm).

On the one hand, it is undeniable that businesses are established with the primary objective of making profits. Profitability is essential for survival and growth, so companies need revenue to cover operational costs, such as employee salaries, rent, and insurance. Moreover, focusing solely on profit can drive investment in product development, innovation, and market competitiveness. A company must prioritize covering its running costs and meet the changing needs of customers, to remain viable in a competitive world. For example, if a business that fails to meet these financial obligations struggle to survive, social responsibilities will become irrelevant and not nessesary.

On the other hand, businesses also have a crucial role to play in contributing to societal well-being. First, governments need funding, which comes from taxes. Corporations can help society simply by paying these taxes regularly. This tax revenue is used by governments for various public services like healthcare and education. Second, big successful corporations can contribute to the quality of life of society through charity and financial scholarships. This is an investment in the future of those companies. For instance, universities often organize contests with a big award to support promising young generations. By doing so, they gain a lot of attention from society, especially from talented individuals who can become their efficient employees one day.

In conclusion, while the primary goal of any business is to make a profit, it is equally important for companies to fulfill their social responsibilities. In my opinion, balancing both objectives benefits society at large and ultimately enhances the company’s reputation and success.