companies should relocate their factories to the rural areas. is this a good idea

Some manufactures consider moving to countryside. I think this is not a good plan since delivery cost will be high and environment pollution will damage the nature.

One reason, I think opening factories in countryside has negative impacts as company owners’ would have to bear a high cost for deliveries. This is because, the material and resources need to be transport to manufacturing site, so this will be increased based on the distance between the new location and the stocks. Therefore, added cost could affect the profit of the company. For example, when Maliban Biscuits PVT Limited moved to Rathmalana in 2023, their transport cost had increased by 23% than in 2022 due to delivery of raw material from Colombo. Hence, this is not a positive plan.

Another negative outcome is, environment pollution due to release of chemicals and harmful gases will damage the surrounding, To elaborate, a lot of factories now use chemicals in the production cycle and these will be released in to rivers or the ocean. As a result, water will polluted and people and animals will not have water for their needs. For example, Anurapadapura farmer were unable to farm since July this year due to water pollution in Northen Province. Main reason for this situation was Arpico factory has released a lot of chemicals in to Ginganga River. So, this plan does not have pros.

To conclude, moving into county side is not a good plan for multinational companies as company heads will need to spend a lot for transport and earth can be polluted due to waste from these factories.