Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative affects of consumerism?

Nowadays there is no product, that launch on a market without being promoted for potential customers. Organization could spend an enormous amount of money on a different kind of advertising. This can affect both on the positive side and on the negative one.

First and foremost, from statistical viewpoint, the demand on companies’ products grows, as a result they report much higher profit than without using marketing campaign in their strategy. Hardly can somebody find out about specific item if there is no mention of it neither on social media nor on real life. For instance, effective promoting strategy of the company “Rhode” motivate people to buy their product and accordingly financial performance report prosperity. As a matter of fact, the presented products were sold out in first 10 minutes after being introduced.

Conversely, excessive marketing can cause a surplus of goods that consumers buy without special necessities. Not only can it affect badly on customers from the financial side but also it makes them throw away more and more products, for that reason there are serious difficulties with the environment. Indeed, the root cause of this problem is due to encouraging clients to shop more through marketing. It acts as a counter argument in support of consumerism.