Competitiveness is seen as a positive quality for people to have in many societies today. How does this competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative quality?

People tend to be more and more competitive in modern society, while most people view it as a positive quality. In my view, being competitive has a not small influence of a person’s life, which can be considered beneficial in most situations.

First of all, competitiveness influences individuals in several ways, a competitive environment can either discourage people or give people support. On the one hand, too many competitions can bring out much pressure on the people who lack competitiveness. Nowadays, lying flat is becoming a popular way of life among young people as a result of the “rat race”, people have to passively accepted the status which people are always comparing with each other. On the other hand, when people are facing competition, they are more willing to overcome those challenges. People with competitive personalities believe that everyone can make impossible possible and turn possible into infinite possibilities, this make them are more likely to succeed. Anyway, the effect of competitiveness depending on people own views when they facing the challenges.

In my opinion, I firmly believe that competitiveness is an excellent quality for human beings. Competitive people always strive themselves to be better than other people, therefore, they always set a high goal and work hard to achieve it. Although many people have to accept the status that they hate, people have to admit, this is one of the reason for many talented people emerging in society. For another, being competitive also help old people to keep healthy. If people always live under the mode of lying flat, without challenge spirit which means without stimulation, brains with degenerate quickly.

All in all, although competitiveness brings different people different influences, I believe that competitiveness is a good quality for both individuals and whole society.