Competitiveness is seen as a positive quality for people to have in many societies today. How does this competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative quality?

Nowadays, people are having a hot debate on whether competitiveness should be a neccessity quality for individual to survive in society. Some people do agree it’s essential because of the limitted resources, while some people regard it as toxic since they destroy the harmony atmosphere in soiety. From my points of view, I would like to consider competitve as a negative quality for both individuals and society since it’s not neccessary.

To talk about how competitive influence single person. Firstly, it affects people’s emotion a lot. I reckon this as the very first reason as mental health should be emphasized. Competitiveness force people to pursuit higher achievement, which lead them spending more time on a meaningless work. On the one hand, their stress increased as they care about other’s procession all the time. They may get depressed and loss confidence when get behind. On the other hand, they loss the time to relax and reload their energy which could lead to exhausted easily in later’s work.

Further more, competitiveness create a skeptical atmosphere in interperson relationship. As a individual, we tend to trust each other so we could cooperate and exchange our mind to create something new together. However, the competitiveness stops all of them, for example I used to ask for some advice about the voabulary test from my college, but she also enroll the test, so I would concern that whether I should ask, or we say, will she offer me the correct answer? From both of our views, share became a hard thing. So my point is actually competitive stopped us from sharing, which actually limitted our achivement. As a Chinese idom said: more people, higher flame. Competitiveness could not help in this process.

As I just explained, I definately thought competitiveness is harmful to individuals also useless, so it’s a negative quality. However, company and society need the best and the most efficiency worker, so they set the competition to select people they want. Restrict by the living rule, people are still needed to improve themselves and join those competition, trying to get to the top. Although the glass ceiling is here, nobody could get over it, everybody want to touch it. What’s more, imagine the world without competitiveness, it couldn’t be worse.

To sum up, competitiveness leads to personal emotional brust, even confidence loss at the same time harm their relationship with others. As a negative quality, it won’t help society to improve further only stress the working atmosphere.