Competitiveness is seen as a positive quality for people to have in many societies today. How does this competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative quality?

In today’s context, individuals often regard competitiveness as a splendid quality when coping with issues from various aspects of life. Competitiveness propels people through constantly pushing themselves to move forward, and, from my perspective, it is a trait that can bring a lot of benefits to individuals in many societies.

Being competitive means people need to persistently perform actions that have brought them to the current level. If they fail to continue and halt for a while, their peers or colleagues may catch up on them and even overpass them in aspects such as professional skills and personal charisma. To maintain their status and hold their steady roles, individuals are supposed to consistantly assimilate new technical ideas and enhance personal charm so that they are capable enough to maintain their competitiveness. Hence, individuals’ status quo of being powerful pushes them to surge ahead.

Individuals with competitiveness are entitled with better job opportunities. One reason for this is that companies nowadays tend to attach great significance to employees’ overall capability, which is equivalent to being competitive and able to address critical issues occurred during scenarios such as a meeting or a symposium. Consequently, people who stand out for their competitiveness are more cherished and valued by employers and have more options.

Competitiveness ensures confidence and self-assertation in the face of difficulties. This is primarily due to the fact that competitive individuals are often those who have accumulated substantial knowledge and performed practical trials. For example, advanced engineers who have received years’ of training and conducted on-site construction are likely to be poised and composed when encountering engineering hassles. As a result, competitiveness helps them resolve problems more efficiently and easily, which, in turn, boosts confidence and sense of validation when meeting obstacles from distinct areas.

In conclusion, competitiveness positively affects people through continuously pushing them forward. It also offers individuals better employments and self-recognition.