Computer are being used more and more in education. Some people say this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Computers are widely used as a source of learning in the field of education. While few perceive it as a positive development, some believe it has adverse effects. In my opinion, I believe computers have changed the outlook of orthodox learning & has introduced comfortable yet interactive methods of learning for both students and teachers.

Use of computers renders a variety of benefits for us to utilize. Firstly, students can learn online within the comfort of their home. Secondly, it also helps teachers connect with students across the globe remotely to teach. Thirdly, due to the vast amount of resources available on the internet, it is easy to explore more data apart from the ones available in textbooks. Lastly, a lot of paper is saved since many universities are conducting their exams online. For instance, University of California has rolled out a mandate wherein students will take the exam online and in return will plant a tree within their campus as a part of their environmental conservation.

On the other hand, few think that heavy usage of computers has made students and teachers distant from each other. Students rely on the internet for their problems and interaction with teachers is minimal. As most of the universities are adopting the use of computers to impart education, employing teachers has seen a steep decline. Parents are worried that their pupils might get exposed to some illicit and inappropriate content, which might not be good for them at a particular age. For example, according to a recent survey from Cambridge university students between age of 15-19 fall prey to pornographic sites while fulfilling their academic requirements online.

To conclude, the use of computers comes with its own merits and demerits, as humans we need to adapt ourselves to new technologies to make our life easy. Using computers in the education sector can bring some remarkable changes in the future. If used efficiently, it can empower teachers and students both, to make learning more seamless and interactive.