Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In recent years, there has been an unprecedented surge in advertisements from various competing companies. While it has stimulated economic growth, it has also negatively impacted consumer behaviour. In this essay, I will discuss the potential consequences of this trend and outline the measures that can be implemented to safeguard consumers.

Among the myriad of ways the increasing number of advertisements has impacted society, the most notable is that it has promoted hyper-consumerism. There are numerous promotional campaigns distributed by companies across the globe, promoting an abundance of products. For example, Coca-Cola and Pepsi share similar products, due to the similarities, these businesses are constantly displaying their goods on television programs, billboards, and social media. This, in turn, encourages people to purchase their beverages in large quantities, leading to hyper-consumerism. This also applies to different industries that are trying to lure people to patronize them, ultimately, commercials perpetuate the cycle of relentlessly pursuing goods to consume.

However, there are a few strategies that can protect the general public from hyper-consumerism. This can be achieved by raising awareness about the marketing tactics used by big corporations to persuade people to buy their products, such as music, colours, and, in some cases, lies. For example, there are numerous content creators on social media that give honest reviews about products, discouraging individuals from being deceived by the dishonesty of luxury businesses, which sell goods at an exorbitantly high price. As a result, it encourages people to be more conscious about their spending habits. Evidently, this would have a positive impact on society.

In conclusion, Even though consumers may be confronted, with an alarming number of advertisements, it is essential to educate them on ways to not be deceived by marketing ploys used by businesses. This is necessary to prevent excessive material consumption.