Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products from anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this ever-evolving society, foreign trade and bandwagoning have resulted in the similarity of products in different countries. While this phenomenon may bring some benefits for people who work in a business-oriented field or a particular group of consumers, it can inadvertently give rise to several drawbacks for each country’s national identity and originality.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many nations choose to produce uniform products or follow trends from other countries. Firstly, many entrepreneurs and retailers view this as an opportunity to make profits before the trend abates. A notable example of this can be the rise of matcha products and Labubu from Japan and China. As they became increasingly prominent, salespeople from my country integrated them into the stores and menus. Aside from that, the product availability helps citizens to access them more easily and have more options for everyday purchases. Furthermore, this allows individuals to gain insights about other nations’ cultures, reinforcing the unity around the world.

On the other hand, the downsides of this phenomenon cannot be underestimated. One of the major repercussions of this can be the loss of cultural diversity. People who love foreign cultures might prefer popular products instead of conventional, local ones. This makes the sales of traditional toys, clothing, material, or food less prominent. Later on, they slowly lose traction in the market and edge toward the brink of “extinction”. To illustrate this, some locals in my country choose to sell Dubai chocolate to foreigners, since its prevalence far outweighs local sweets such as bo bia or cotton candy. In developing countries, people are stopping to promote traditional cuisines and instead opting for fast food. But this practice highlights the loss of patriotism and pride in a nation’s culture and history.

In light of the aforementioned considerations, although having the ability to buy the same products everywhere in the world seems to be a positive development, the adverse impacts this trend poses on cultural diversity and each country’s cultural identity on the global stage far outweigh the advantages. In my view, governments should strive for a balanced approach, embracing international development while implementing regulations to preserve cultures.