Countries around the world will be facing significant challenges relating not only to the environment, but population and education as well. What problems will your country face in the next ten years? How can these problems be overcome? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many countries in the world going to face significant challenges that not only related to environment, but population and education. In Malaysia, climate change and transitioning to electric vehicles could be the problems in the next ten years. Green architecture and local electric car invention could prevent these challenges.

Climate change in Malaysia getting worst with unpredictable weather changes. Malaysia is a tropical country which consists of hot and wet climate. The development of city with more building leads pollution which later turns to extreme hot and unpredictable rainy weather. Moreover, people are not ready to drive electric car due to economic condition. The price of most electric cars that are imported from overseas is significantly high due to the currency and tax therefore it is an unrealistic expectation for a middle class person to use electric car. For example, Tesla’s model Y is around MYR280,000 whereas a Malaysian car is only MYR58,000 therefore people prefer owning a fuel based Malaysian car over electric ones.

Having green landscape could overcome climate change. The government should spend more on green arcthitecture and buildings. A well planned urban design with the balance of green environment such as tress and green landscape could prevent the clmate change. In addition, the Malaysian government also should focus on the local invention of electric car with affordable prices for the middle class market. For example, China invented electric car called BYD to minimize the use of fuel/diesel vehicles and this leads to a sustainable environment.

In conclusion, climate change and owning a electric vehicle would be major problems for Malaysia in the coming years. However with the right direction such as focusing on green architecture and very own reasonable price local car invention could prevent these problems.