Countries should produce the food that their population eat, and import as little as possible. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer

In this competitive world, it is generally deemed by majority that countries are supposed to meet their citizens’ food demand and eliminate the share of imported ones. And I completely approve of the idea due to the unprecedented upsides it brings about to both the country and its inhabitants equally.

To begin with, providing the population with all essential food supplies rather than importing from a neighboring countries can be beneficial for the authority. No sooner do they achieve self supplement level, then, their dependence on the aid from other countries will vanish eventually. Furthermore, while a political conflict occurs with those nations, it is inevitable to be deprived of the food provision by them which is a vivid case in point. That is to say, cultivating every type of food all by themselves contributes to the food independence of that nation.

Secondly, since the cost of import is remarkably high which is excessed with the transportation costs, self sufficient countries could benefit economically by increased amount of income which is a direct result of giving up from delivered food supplements. As a consequence, a plenty amount of money could be allocated to public sectors, healthcare and education, as an example. It is clear that these contributions are exquisitely vital for an overall well-being of the residents and the advancement of young generation who can make great efforts for the prosperous future of the country.

In conclusion, although there might be some particular challenges in terms of climate and weather conditions, self supported way results in a number of financial and social advantages to the country.