Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that countries where workers work for extended work hours have economic stability and success, even though they face social drawbacks. I largely agree that these countries can experience a boost in economic growth; however, it might negatively affect people’s well-being and relationships.

It is true that long working hours can contribute to the overall economy of a nation. When workers dedicate much time at work, they are likely to finish essential tasks and projects beforehand, contributing to the productivity of the national company. As the productivity and efficiency of work rises, companies, particularly those focused on invention and scientific research might be able make breakthroughs. These new developments can attract new investments and new customers from all part of the world, leading to a rise in economy. From this perspective, extended working timeline might seem increasingly advantageous

However, this prolonged working schedule carries substantial negative effects on workers, with increased mental illnesses being the most significant one. Constantly staying at work leaves little time for engaging in other extracurricular activities to relax, which leads to increased stress levels and in turn, sleep deprivation. For example, research conducted by WHO, reveals that the majority of stress and sleep-related issues are triggered by a heavy workload and little time spent on relaxation.

Furthermore, another significant social drawback of prolonged working hours is its impact on relationships. If a person regularly spends their time at work, they might not have time to spend with their family or friends. Such action may make family members feel neglected, which often leads to heated arguments and unfavorable outcomes. For instance, in Uzbekistan, many divorce files have increased rapidly over the last decade, and the main cause for this increase was a lack of time dedicated on families and children. Consequently, such working trend may leave workers isolated and lonely.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that economic success of a nation can be achieved by implementing prolonged working hours. However, such action can lead to negative social consequences especially in terms of people’s health and social relationships.