Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that some countries where people work for a long time are more successful than those countries where working hours are shorter. I agree with this view, because working for long hours gives companies more opportunities to improve the production and faster economic growth.

To start with, some individuals do not agree with this statement because it do not depends on hours of working time to evaluate the quality of work or companies success, because individuals believe that reduced working hours improves worker’s health and job satisfaction which leads to higher efficiency. When worker get enough rest and feel less stressed, they are more focused and makes fewer mistakes, which results in better quality of work. For example, some countries have limited their weekly working hours, but they are getting good satisfaction from work despite they work less.

On the other hand, some people including me think that working for longer hours brings more benefits. Firstly, when people work longer hours, they are able to produce more goods and show good quality service, this increased output helps companies to grow faster and allows them to strengthen their economic condition. For example, some developing countries require employees to work long hours in manufacturing or technology sectors, which has helped them increase export rates and compete In global marketing. As a result, these countries often experience rapid economic developments.

From my perspective, working long hours may reflect a strong work ethic and high level of commitment for work which they are doing. Workers, who have an extra time to work, are more likely to develop skills and improve performance which contribute to career growth and bring more benefits for company and also country’s economy.

In conclusion, I believe working long hours brings more benefits rather than working shorter hours, because workers usually achieve higher productivity with investing more hours for job. While, it is important to balance the work and personal life, extended working hours can play significant in a country’s economy.