Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there is a debatable notion that thriving economic countries are more likely to have long working hours; however, these nations can face adverse social issues. This essay strongly agrees with this opinion, because it can increase job productivity, but face-to-face communication between individuals in these nations can also be negatively affected.

A school of thought holds that long working hours enhance job productivity leading to economic success in some nations. This is because many people tend to focus on their major incomes from full-time jobs that require extended work hours; therefore, they may apply themselves and divert more efforts to their jobs instead of other daily activities. As a result, longer working hours per day with more concentration culminates in improving both job productivity and quality, giving rise to a thriving economy. For example, some countries that require a long average working time, such as Germany and Spain, witness significant growth in the financial aspect and gain economic prosperity.

However, prolonged working hours may lead to several adverse impacts on the community’s connection. Numerous workers usually complete their daily tasks at offices until midnight, hence, they are more likely to isolate themselves at home to relax rather than go outside and connect with their neighbors. Consequently, the ongoing working habit prevents relationships with other individuals from developing, it can even take a toll on the mental health of these citizens with the symptoms of stress and anxiety. For instance, recent studies have shown that the statistics of neighborhood communication in Japan have declined considerably since most residents prefer to rest at home for the rest of the day after a prolonged period of working time.

In conclusion, with all mentioned above, I am convinced that although extending the time of working plays an integral role in the economic success of some countries, this trend can do social communication a disservice.