Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, there has long been a trend in some countries towards longer average working hours, which is attributed to the increase in the nation’s affluence. However, there are some argued that prolonged working hours can be detrimental to the social well-being. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly agree with that statement that negative impacts of this phenomenon on individual’s personal lives outweight its economic benefits.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that longer working hours contribute significantly to a country’s economic growth. Indeed, labor is crucial in transforming raw materials into finished goods and merchandises. Therefore, when people devote a significant part of their day to fulfill their work responsibilities, there will be an increase in work productivity. For example, Japan and South Korea, known for their traditions of working for extra hours, have achieved remarkable economic growth and are considered global economic powerhouses. Consequently, extended working time can boost a country’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP), which considerably enhances a country’s economic status.

On the other hand, I also support the argument that countries where economic prosperity is achieved through extended working hours are likely to face many social issues. Firstly, this can lead to poor work-life balance among individuals. Longer working time means less personal time, thus people will have no room for taking care of their physical and mental healths, leading to the potential for stress or anxiety. For example, in Japan, the phenomenon of “karoshi” (death by overwork) highlights the severe health impacts of excessive working hours. Moreover, workers required to do extra time tend to have lessen quality time with their families and for social interactions , which may cause weaken family bonds and social isolation.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that longer average working time may play an important role in the countries’ thriving, but its threat to the public health and social well-being need to have more concern.