Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely acknowledged that the national prosperity depends on the working age; therefore, several countries lengthen the average working time due to the economic succeed. However, this phenomenon affects workforce, lead to social drawbacks on individuals such as financial pressure. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement and this essay will delve into each aspects of this phenomenon with a logical explanation.

There are several benefits for those countries with high average working age. As lengthening the working age, numerous companies can retain skilled workers, thus maintaining the outcome quality of products. These quality products are sold, which later becomes revenue, contributing to the national economy. Moreover, these senior skilled workers can be a learning material resources, providing knowledge and experiences for the successors. In developing countries, various companies often promote the senior employees to stay in order to teach new staff, thus maintaing a tremendous number of productive workers. For instance, in Sweden, old-aged workers are often promoted to stay in large companies to assist new staff in their field, as a result, it is apparent that Sweden has a considerable number of employees.

However, there are a number of drawbacks for these mentioned countries. As lengthening the working age, individuals face with several problems involving age, which are hindrances for them to working; therefore, individuals are prone to diseases when working in challenging environment. Furthermore, these individuals face with stress in their workplace, which is unavoidable in working environment. Prolonged working years can lead to increased stresss and burnout, especially if the work lack of job satisfaction.

In conclusion, while prolonging the age working can bring various benefits, it also bring numerous drawbacks for society. Governments should implement several policies to mitigate the problems it cause, enhancing the efficiency in the workplace.