Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In contemporary society, extended working hours have beneficial impacts on the long-term economic growth of each country. However, this policy comes at the expense of individuals’ mental well-being, potentially leading to far-reaching social consequences. I totally concur with this assertion.

To begin with, overworking can exacerbate stress levels among individuals. As employees place undue emphasis on financial output and profit, many workers are subjected to working relentlessly. This is synonymous to being deprived of regular holidays and breaks, which empower employees to rejuvenate physically and mentally. In addition to worsened stress levels, longer working time also puts a strain on social relationships. When individuals enter this demanding labor force, they have to adhere strictly to deadlines and cooperate with others towards a common goal. This stringent routine forces workers to withdraw from families and friends, resulting in a lack of emotional support. For instance, Japan, which has the highest working hours, has recorded that there has been an exponential increase in suicidal incidents and loneliness, which are mostly attributed to demanding working culture.

However, some argue that not only do prolonged working hours stimulate economic growth but they also enable people to escape from their intrusive thoughts. They hold firmly to the belief that drowning in working can be the optimal way to disconnect individuals from heartbreaking situations such as relationship breakup and divorce. As a result, this policy has the potential to cultivate positive thinking and get rid of negative thoughts. Although this assertion is true to some extent, preoccupation with work can do more extensive damage to their overall well-being. To illustrate this, working relentlessly is characterized by high levels of stress and depression, compounded by a great sense of nostalgia. Consequently, people are more vulnerable to pessimistic thoughts about themselves and the future, making it more challenging to forge new relationships. For example, individuals, who work abroad, are subjected to longer working hours, further exacerbating homesickness and loneliness.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that a workaholic culture can have detrimental impacts on people’ physical and mental well-being as it shortens social circles and undermines resilience. Thus, it is of paramount importance to strike a balance between stimulating economic growth and stabilizing society.