Crime rates are likely to decrease as advancements in technology make it easier to prevent and solve crimes. Agree or disagree

It is widely acknowledged that many of the radical changes in the human society over the past century were inititated by technological advancements. However, the public remains divided on the effects that technology has on our lives, especially where crime prevention is concerned. Some people argue that the innovations in technology have actually enhanced capabilities to solve and prevent crimes. While there is some truth to this statement, I believe it is impossible to discount the downside in reducing crime rates that technology offered.

On the one hand, it would be unwise to ignore the unshaken importance of advancedly technological optimization in law enforecement to solve and prevent crimes. The growth of technology has supported the crime combat, given the emergence of breakthroughs such as CCTVs, facial recognition, DNA recognition, data analysis, and predictive policing software. This acts as the answer to sophisticated cases that traditional case-solving methods fail to address. In other words, the involvements of technological progress has sped up investigations and served as a dterrent to potential offenders.

On the other hand, I believe to say that advanced technology is to blame for the increasing presence of crimes in the form of tech-enabled offenses. In fact, technology simultaneously gives rise to new challenges in which it is exploited for new crimes, particularly cybercrimes such as online fraud, hacking, identity theft and anonimity on the dark web. For instance, Sam Bankman-Fried, an American entrepreneur who was convicted of all seven counts of financial fraud and related crimes in 2023, with total assets and securities collected worth of billions of dollars, made use of blockchain technology – a cutting-edge technology, to commit all the crimes involved. This is one of powerful testaments to the fact that it is unable to guarantee a decrese in overall crime rates, as the nature of crime evolves alongside technological rise, which has understandably provoked widespread concert regarding the impact of technlogy.

In conclusion, while technology has indeed empowered the efficiency of solving and preventing crimes, I am convinced that it has also given ways for raising new crimes, as evidenced in cybercrime rates.