Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

In this day and age, even with the proliferation of educational opportunities, a considerable portion of population still remain functionally illiterate. This essay sheds light on the downsides of this state of affair prior to proposing some feasible measures for the government.

The Increased rate of illiteracy breeds far more detrimental repercussions for the economy and the society as a whole. To commence with, the illiterate people only do manual work, which does not require a high education level such as producing and packaging products in lieu of intellectual work entailing specific knowledge and great academic performances. Consequently, this trend limits the ability to access a wide range of occupations , thereby curtailing cooperation with other nations . This issue is even exacerbated on a social scale since quality of human life emphasizes on clear distribution and difference, which, granted, fosters discrimination among the rich and the poor and undermines the absolute significance of collaboration, hence, leads to societal fragmentation.

When it comes to the government’s responsibility, they should utilize the strength of mass media and publish strict policies for education. Many individuals overlook the education opens door to new opportunities for careers and improve the quality of life, hence, they are not willing to engage in educational activities, so the government should organize widespread communication campaigns through mass media such as television, radio, and social networks to raise citizens’ awareness about the importance and implications of education. In addition, the government should issue educational regulations to expect individuals to take part in education at a fixed age to ensure the ability of reading and writing least simple documents.

In conclusion, the lack of probability of reading and writing results in lower economic development speed and societal connection. The government bear the blame for unwillingness of participating in educational activities via education campaigns and policies.