Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working from home and give your own opinion.

From the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic remote work and the concept of a home office have become increasingly popular for employees across the world. While this has made life easier for many, there are some drawbacks to this work model that should be considered. This essay will explore both the positive and negative aspects of this trend.

On the one hand, working from home is clearly associated with the comfort zone, as employees are able to organize their workspaces in a way that suits them. Public canteens, restrooms, and chill zones can be uncomfortable for some people, and for some sensible employees, having a space with personal boundaries may be essential. What is more, parents with newborn babies have responsibilities that tie them to their home, and a home office can be a suitable option for them to continue working without losing their jobs. Another benefit is that employees should not have to spend their money and time for transport. Average offices are regularly located close to the city center, which can be inconvenient for people who live on the outskirts. Working from home certainly means staying in the same area, and it can help to save money on commuting.

On the other hand, the main disadvantage is that this approach does not imply real-life contacts with colleagues and team. These days human contact has become more rare than ever before, due to technologies and social media, and office work is often the only option for people to see each other. Group zoom-calls and online-activities will never replace the real connection between individuals. For instance, a casual small talk with colleagues can get them closer to each other and even lead to the discovery of a soulmate by chance. Secondly, working from home can decrease efficiency and productivity of an employee due to many distracting factors. Tik-toks, comfortable bed, conversation with roommates – all of these things are not about work-life balance, but rather about an inefficient work environment.

Personally, I find this issue controversial, as both a pleasant work environment and productive employees are essential for business success. As for me, I find suitable decisions in hybrid work models, which allow employees to choose where and how they want to work.

In conclusion, working from home can be advantageous if employees are responsible and complete their tasks in time, however, these days the benefits from office work are still considerable.