Do the positive effects outweigh negative effects, when advertising gains popularity?

In the age of technological advancement, there still remains a controversial topic as advertising develops whether the useful aspects are greater than the disadvantageous Some people agree that commercial produces a lot of helpful information while others state that it generates negative problems for users.

To begin with the benefits, promotion conveniently bridges the gap between sellers and buyers. Obviously, purchasers are not always close to the stores, geographical distance could prevent businesses approach to customers. Marketing campaigns have been run to highlight online shopping platforms or stores that are easy to reach. For instance, one of the most accessible applications is Shoppe, which is familiar to people and widely promoted. Accordingly, customers could get closer on commercial floor and at the same time manufacturers were able to strongly build their own brands. Moreover, advertising programs also stimulate purchasing demand, boost sales and economic development. Of course, for shopaholics, they always feel attracted to unique items. Thanks to the media, consumers will know about those ones and their purchase decision creates income for sellers as well as make contributions to the country’s economy. It is clearly shown through the 2023 food trend of noodles made with dragon fruits. This interesting combination not only became a fad to adolescents but also helps local people gain giant profits from selling these fruits.

On the other hand, the ads will certainly increase product costs, which will put both users and suppliers at a disadvantage. When producers spend more money on marketing, they may also raise the selling prices. This causes a decrease in purchasing demand, reducing profits and limiting their competitive value as well. At the same time, it is unfair to shoppers if they have to pay more while the same article is cheaper in other stores. It is true for my brother, who bought a white jacket at the supermarket for 200,000 VND, but then he realized that the similar one was sold for half the price at a regular clothing shop. Also, it is unequal to the public due to only knowing the convenience of goods through publicizing without being aware of the drawbacks. Undoubtedly, advertisers are hires to focus on the positive aspects of the products but hiding the negatives. After a period of using, there will be too much errors to make customers feel dissatisfaction. For example, my friend used to buy a desk lamp through a clip on Facebook, however, after only a week, its light began weaken and sometimes couldn’t turn on completely. Therefore, not all words are true, particularly in a condition that individuals just prioritize profit maximization. The loss of prestige can damage users belief and harmful influence the market.