Due to a more sedentary lifestyle, children in developed nations have higher levels of obesity compared to previous generations. What problems does this cause and what are the possible solutions?

Due to the modern lifestyle, youngsters in developed countries have a high level of obesity compared to older generations. This phenomenon is caused by a plethora of reasons such as, shopping online, food applications, and cutting-edge technologies of transportation. This essay will discuss the key reasons for this issue and how it can be avoided in the future, all of these points will be elaborated in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, this problem has been caused by various reasons like contactless ordering food and the internet addiction. In other words, many teenagers and children these days have their own mobiles and can order food anytime they want. That technology lets them eat junk food whenever they want without any obstacle. For example , in Jordan more than 40% of Jordanian adolescents have “Talabat” which is a food application, which provides a service called “20 mins order” , that means your order will be with you after 20 mins of placing any order, this policy motivated more children to consume fast food excessively.

Additionally, new relaxing transportation facilities caused these children to be fatter, because they do not run or walk anymore. Lastly, social media platforms have a huge effect on teenagers’ attitudes and behaviors. Basically , when they follow food bloggers , that will make them addicted to this kind of food like the latest trend of chocolate “Trend Dubai” which made more than 1 million to try this chocolate in less than a month.

Ultimately, many solutions can be taken to minimize this global effect. Firstly, the authorities should impose taxes on high-sugar food, such as chocolates and candy. Secondly, promoting and raising the awareness about the healthy food which contain less amounts of sugar, sodium , and fat. These products like brown bread, dark chocolate, and sugar-free coffee. For example, a restaurant in Paris called “French Fit”, which only services healthy dishes to keep its customers fit and healthy .

Finally, I tend to believe that government and parents should take an action to reduce this proportion of obesity around the world by applying some new strategies such as, imposing high tax and change their lifestyle into a healthy lifestyle full with low-calories meals. These procedures will effectively minimize the obesity in the world.