Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, a large number of family-run stores are reluctant to close, which can be attributed to the significant extension of malls. As a result, it is believed that this phenomenon tends to cause the disappearance of communal bonds. However, I totally disagree with this opinion, so I will elaborate my thoughts in this essay.

It is understandable why many people think that the fast expansion of supermarkets affects negatively local societies. These mass retailers are able to adapt the huge customers’ demand and provide them with incentive programs to encourage purchasing, which make them outcompete the tiny businesses. Subsequently, locals following the traditional works will move away to find new jobs, thereby leading to the ruin of regional communities. Nevertheless, reality is likely to prove the opposite. In fact, the appearance of corporations provide numerous stable jobs for residents who live around there. The reason is that to operate a supermarket, the company must recruit thousands of employees. Therefore, instead of moving to other areas, locals may prefer keeping staying and working in these communities.

Moreover, I also strongly believe that the rapid enlargement of retailing giants will partly enhance local identities. Because the supermarkets normally choose to cooperate with small markets to maintain and promote local products, the tradition of societies will be preserved totally. For instance, Bat Trang Ceramics village, one of the most famous local communities of Vietnam, accepted the offer of working with huge brands of supermarkets like BigC, CoopMart to expand business scope. By this way, Bat Trang’s products are increasingly well-known with not only domestic customers but also international consumers; consequently, the communal ties are likely to be considerably reinforced.

In conclusion, I do believe that the rapid enlargement of upscaled enterprises will not lead to the death of local bonds because it not only provides residents with a large number of jobs but promotes the identity of regional identities as well.