Eco-tourism usually involves people visiting remote areas. Some people think this will have a negative impact on local cultures and communities. What problems can result from eco-tourism?

Normally, eco-tourism assumes people visit remote regions. It is believed that this kind of tourism may make some negative contributions to local cultures and communities.

Firstly, as eco-tourism destinations become popular, a demand for infrastructure, including hotels, restaurants, transport and roads increases. This can lead to destroying habitats which may keep endemics, unique species for specific territory, by building and people activity. It is highly likely that, in such situation biodiversity of areas will decline, and surviving animals will get used to the presence of people, so it is possible for them to change feeding models, mating rituals and migration processes. Secondly, tourists are parts of various cultures and faiths, while civilizations in remote areas evolve separately. Foreign people will have significant influence on intact nations, this way, unique traditions and customs will be lost or deeply changed.

There are some measures that can be taken to prevent problems connected with local cultures and communities. One potential solution is establishing a strict set of rules, which provide a system of fines. This would allow to safe nature and local practices. Another approach to tackle this issue is to create an association or a union of companies that engage in eco-tourism. It les to organize a tourists black list, so if a person was noticed breaking rules, he or she will be introduced in such list.

It is clear that eco-tourism can have a negative effect on local communities, therefore travellers, tourist organisations and governments ought to manage people actions in unfamiliar regions.