Economic progress is a measure of a country's success, but others argue that there are other factors. Besides economic progress, what factors can be used to measure a country's success? Out of these, do you think one factor is more important than the others?

In recent years, some people believe that a nation’s advancement is expressed through the economy while others argue that there are many factors that affect a country’s success. From my perspective, I agree with the latter.

It can be seen that there are many measuring factors that lead to a country’s development besides economy. Firstly, cultural values such as customs or festivals can contribute to a nation’s attraction. A country will become more prevalent when these factors are introduced not only by domestic citizens but also foreigners. For example, ethnic minorities in Vietnam are well-known for their special items, traditional costumes that make overseas travellers be impressive. As a result, a country’s images can be more remarkable when compared to other nations.

Despite its valuable advantages, I argue that the economy plays the most crucial role in a nation’s progress. Firstly, having a powerful economy can reinforce other domains’ development. This is because the government would invest more money for science, tourism and so on in comparison to developing countries. For instance, Japan, a developed nation, spending a great deal of money for study, resulted in a huge achievement for human potential. Secondly, thanks to the economy, citizens’ living standards have improved significantly. Because the rate of urban areas has risen considerably, metropolitan inhabitants have taken advantage of qualified facilities such as hospitals, shopping malls, and schools.

In conclusion, while factors from mental values have a big effect on the nation’s development, I argue that the economic domain stands the highest position to evaluate this measure.