Even though governments have worked hard to bring about improvements in the healthcare system, the overall standard of physical health in developed countries is decreasing. What are the potential reasons for this, and what are some of the long-term effects?

Health problems including heart disease, obesity, and diabetes are becoming more widespread in developed countries. There are several reasons contributing to this problem, as well as potentially drastic long-term effects.

Lifestyle choices are important and major causes of poor health in developed countries. These days, it is perhaps easier and cheaper to follow an unhealthy diet. For example, the recent boom in fast food restaurants and chains has enticed people to eat at these establishments rather than cooking healthy meals at home. Stress is another factor that has contributed to poor health. The fast-paced corporate culture and competitive work atmospheres make for a difficult work-life balance, resulting in little to no time for eating healthy or taking care of oneself.

These lifestyle choices will have drastic long-term effects. If generations continue to partake in these unhealthy habits, they will continue on for generations to come. For instance, parents who have diabetes or are prone to obesity have a higher chance of passing these conditions on to their children, and so on. Consequently, these health problems could result in a higher cost of living. Due to increased demand for services, it is only natural that the healthcare industry would charge higher prices to its clients, resulting in higher costs.

Poor lifestyle choices, ranging from unhealthy diets and higher stress, have certainly contributed to the decrease in health standards. If not properly taken care of, these problems could cause harmful long-term effects to future generations in terms of disease and a higher cost of living.