Eventually, technology will solve the most important environmental problems the world faces today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that advancement of technology massively contributes to the human civilization. In this regard, some people believe that technology at the end has power to solve the existing crucial environmental issues in the world. I firmly disagree with this statement considering technology is only a piece of comprehensive solution that humankind needs.

Human are in the midst of environmental problems, such as pollution, climate change, overpopulation and loss of biodiversity. In solving those issues, technology itself cannot stand alone, particularly the advanced ones are often costly. Meanwhile, those who are mostly affected by the climate change often have lack access to finance to afford such things. It is therefore required other supporting tools, for instance, policy enforcement and behavior change. Technology becomes useless if the government of a country does not have any policy instruments that support the application of technology. In Indonesia, for instance, one of the simple initiatives to reduce the pollution, is encouraging people to commute more with with public transportation.

In addition, invention of new technology is often at expenses of the environment itself. To support the energy transition from fossil to renewable, a lot of new inventions are promoted. However, some of the spare parts require extraction of rare materials. Seeing the raising demand for updated technology, a lot of businesses extract the needed materials in a irresponsible manner. Indeed, it has good intention but at the same time also put environment at risk.

To sum up, technology is considered as part of the solution to the environmental problems, but it will not work without other supporting instruments.