Every year several language die out. Some people think this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Language is a medium that helps in communication. A section of society thinks that extinction of many languages every year is insignificant as using less number of languages will help for easier life. I completely disagree with the notion. In this essay, I will discuss it in detail and substantiate my opinion.

There are various factors such as unique identity, culture, literature and diversity when we considering the importance of each language. Most languages carries its own identity in the form of scripts, an unique usage and phonetics. Some are not even having its own script and exists in verbal form and carries history of many generations. For instance, most tribal languages doesn’t have its own script and those languages are surviving only due to its regular usage. Moreover, the cultural imprints are considered as another ingredient of any language. It also carries slangs, particular names and description for occasions, customs and positions, that cannot be replicate or translate into another language. In addition to that, languages also help to sustain the cultural diversity, preserve age old traditions such as Onam in Kerala, Dussera in Karnataka and Pongal in Tamilnadu as regional festivals and these states are keeping their own identity on the basis of mother-toungue.

However, some languages have its own prominence due to various reasons such as globalization, career opportunities and convienience in communication. As a medium, language has significant role in most of the day-to-day activities. Most countries prefer individuals competent in global languages as their employees. Furthermore, some people believe that one global language will be convenient for all the transactions across the world and it will help in to sharing same belief and culture. Consequently, it will lead to the reduction of discrimination and racism. For example, there are a lot of problems due to lack of sound knowledge in English and this create difficulty in migrants life to get placements as well as job opportunities. Additionally, most languages are only relevant for a few and considering languages that use by majority only will sustanin in the far future.

In my opinion, every language has its own uniqueness and should be preserved. Widely using languages are not an alternative for any minor languages and its uses, in that case die out of a language is a major issue.

To sum up, every year many languages are disappearing due to several reasons should be avoided and all languages should be preseverved with all its essence and identity.