Every year several language die out. Some people think this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

In the modern world, with the increased interaction of communities between countries, it has become more prevalent for languages to take words or phrases from other languages. This is causing several languages to die out. There is the idea that this occurrence is not important since less languages would make life simpler. I completely disagree with his statement and this essay will be examining the reasons behind my opinion.

To start with, languages help preserve the history of a society. Some words or phrases in languages come from the different experiences of the people that spoke that language hundreds of years ago. For example, in the Turkish language there are many idioms and phrases that reflect the challenges the people faced in the past and the solutions they found for their problems. Similarly, language plays significant role in the culture of societies as such their songs or literature. If these languages were to die out completely, they would also destroy a big part of the community’s culture and history.

Moreover, reducing the number of languages spoken in the world would not actually make life easier. One reason for that is not all languages have words for every meaning. Studies show that most bilingual or multilingual people, when talking to their friends who also know more than one language, use multiple languages during one conversation, because they feel like they can express themselves better with the words or phrases from a different language than their mother tongue. Thus, reducing the number of languages in the world may not actually make it easier, but even harder for some people to communicate.

In conclusion, the idea that we should not mind the extinction of languages as it would make communication simpler, is highly flawed. Languages are more than a way of interacting with other people, they have a strong impact on the culture and history of societies. Therefore, destroying languages does not lead to a simpler life, but in fact a more complicated one.