Every year several language die out. Some people think this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

The most languages in a country are rapidly depleted every year. Some people believe that they can spend a better life with few languages. However, I believe that abolishing of any language should be prohibited because every language has a great value addition in presenting culture and social values of native people of that language.

From an ordinary people’s perspective, it seems quite logical to a certain extent that living with a few languages is a better option. However, the language represents a culture of some nation and it is very essential that every minorities and ethnic group in a country should have a right to preserve their cultural values. Furthermore, language has a great association with social values. There are certain traditions, which make people quite uncomfortable, if they celebrate in a different language. For instance, Chinese wish Chinese New Year message to everyone around the globe in Chinese, it is very difficult for them to communicate this message in any other language.

Local languages are also important to develop learning skills in local children and adults. Most of them face lot of problems when their medium of learning is changed from their local language to other language. For instance, indigenous Maori children in New Zealand face lot of problems while studying key subjects in English. Thus, the government introduces these subjects in their own indigenous language. Furthermore, young people can learn better practical skills, if they teach these skills in their own native language.

In conclusion, I believe that abolishing of language should be avoided as language plays a vital role in representing culture value and developing educational and practical learning skills among the native speaker of that language.