Every year several languages die out. Some people think that is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. Do you agree or disagree?

A number of languages disappear each year, but it is not a big deal for some people because they think that it will be more convenient if there are less languages in the world than before. I completely disagree with this opinion because languages are a unique heritage that must be conserved and new technologies can help bridge the language gap around the world.

Languages represent the cultural heritage of a nation, or in some cases, a tribe. Each language is different and constitutes a unique identity. Although some languages share similarities, each one has its own unique characteristics. The government should work together with the civil society to ensure that their national and local languages do not die out. For example, the government of Lampung province in Indonesia regulates that the name of each shop and street must be written in lampungnese alphabets. Both shop owners and civil society have implemented this rule with discipline.

Nowadays, many advanced technologies exist to assist humans when talking with others who do not speak the same languages. Combined with the internet, it is generally easy for someone to take out their devices and use any translation tools in a foreign country to converse with the locals. Some countries have already installed a translation tool in their tourism app, for instance, the Thailand tourism app has a translation menu with a speech feature to help foreign tourists during their stay in Thailand. The convenience offered by technologies will reduce language gap and even boost tourism globally.

In conclusion, I oppose the view that having fewer languages is easier for life, because each language is an important heritage that must be used continuously and people can still easily communicate with others with the help of technologies.