Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Non-profit organizations rely heavily on financial support from citizens’ income. It is often argued that people must donate a set portion of their income to charitable organizations. From my point of view, it is reasonable to contribute to such institutions, due to the possibility of making the world a better place to live and to increase self-esteem.

Giving a donation every month can lead us to our dream world. Governments cannot provide a sufficient amount of resources to everyone. Thus, every person with financial means should help the most vulnerable. That is because even a minor donation plays an imperative role in environmental development and can even save a life. For instance, if 200 individuals donated $5 every month, the annual sum would be $12000, and this figure confirms that even a small contribution will be part of something bigger that on a wider scale can improve society’s wealth state.

Additionally, there is an opinion that assisting people in need can improve your self-appraisal and confidence. Psychologically speaking, a lot of volunteers have feelings of gratitude and other positive emotions for a beneficial cause. Plus, you might feel valued in the community. In addition, some scientists state that our willingness to help the most vulnerable is in our DNA. And that is quite obvious because nature intended for all species to sustain each other. All the aforementioned factors indicate that frequent donations can positively affect mental health.

Over the years, many groups have argued that donating a fixed portion of income to charity should be voluntary, not mandatory. Compelling citizens to donate a fixed portion of their income could be considered a violation of personal freedom. This imposition might result in a negative reaction that causes more harm than the intended good, as well as, There are other ways to support charitable causes besides donating money, such as volunteering your time and skills. Ultimately, a fixed charitable budget ensures a steady flow of resources to organizations dedicated to poverty alleviation.

In conclusion, donating money can provide support to those who cannot afford general facilities and also aid in making life better.