Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that it should be a law to contribute some specified amount to endowments from the income of every individual. I do not quite agree with this idea. While I admit that charitable foundation should be supported but not every person is in position to do such donation.

Having charitable trusts and bodies which are organized by some NGOs are taking very good steps towards the society as it makes a positive impact on our surrounding. It is an undeniable fact that these kinds of welfare do a well-done job by helping people in need and make the world more better living place. There are a lot of high-net-worth individuals who can support these sorts of activities by doing donation as they have a lot of sources of income. Many rich and ultra rich people are already doing these, for an example a very well known and a big businessman Ratan tata who is also known as a philanthropist has started an NGO called TATA trust and under these funding many students in need gets free education, skill developments and many more facilities.

On the other hand, not all the people are in condition to do such kind of donations from their income as they live their day-to-day life on paycheck-to-paycheck scale. So that, doing such handouts from their small income can make a big cause on their lives. Hence, in my opinion people should always have an option to choose whether they want to aid these facilities or not as having this flexibility cannot force them and they can help as per their capacity. Of course, government and non-government bodies can run some campaigns to motivate humankind to do more and more contribution.

In conclusion, people who are in position to do donation can be encouraged to do as much as they can do and those who cannot, should have option whether they want to do it or not. Hence, I do not agree that everyone should donate certain amount from their income to support charity.