Everyone should stay at school until 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there is an argument that all children must stay at school until 18. While some individuals believe that several children are knowledgeable enough to decide whether they have to continue learning at school, others argue they cannot lack academic education by the age of 18. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that the decision relies on children’s opinion and their families’ circumstances.

On the one hand, letting children decide whether they have to study at school until 18 is necessary depends on each child’s mind and skill. Specifically, some children with difficult living standards with more frequent clashes can be more intelligent, independent and socialised. Hence, they are knowledgeable enough to leave the schools and start thinking about their careers. Additionally, children can decide to stay at school by 18 by considering their occupations in the future. For instance, jobs like nursing or engineering require specialised knowledge which can be studied at school while business or sport athleticism are mainly learned through experience and practices. Moreover, some families cannot pay for their children’s tuition fee as they focus on making ends meet and their only worry is probably about when or even whether they have their next meal.

On the other hand, over many scientific experiments and practical situations, educationalists have concluded that children are fully academically knowledgeable and independent if they stay at school until 18. For example, children can socialise and interact with other fellow students and teachers as schools are often described as miniature societies where children have many trials to gain knowledge and experience. Besides that, children are not able to be responsible to the law for their acts until 18 so schools can control and prevent them from doing crimes.

In conclusion, forcing every student to stay at school by the age of 18 seems impractical and doesn’t fit in all circumstances despite several benefits of entirely getting access to education. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the proposal and it should not be adopted.