Exposure to international media, such as films, TV and magazines, has an impact on the local culture. What do you think of these impacts? Do you think that the advantages of these impacts outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that today we are living in a global village where people all around the world listen to the same types of music, watch similar movies and television programs, and even many of us extend our interests to read books and magazines that were published overseas. While some people have argued that these tendencies could destroy a country’s culture and have adverse effects on people’s lives, others completely oppose these notions. However, personally, I agree with the group of people who believe that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages for several reasons. In this essay, I will give some reasons to support my assertion.

To begin with, by looking at the advantages of these processes, firstly through television programs, we could get a deeper knowledge of different cultures and diverse lifestyles. Secondly, if people spend the time to read books or magazines that were published overseas, then they will probably gain knowledge in a foreign language. Finally, the more we share our ideas and thoughts through the media, the more we understand each other. That will definitely help us reduce prejudice among nations.

However, its disadvantages seem greater than its advantages. One is that nowadays people all around the world are influenced by the international media. Consequently, many of us are trying to imitate the lifestyles of other cultures, which will lead to the cultural erosion of a country. Another point is that our identities are being lost due to our overexposure to international media. For example, these days, people all around the world have been trying to wear the dresses and costumes of the characters on television programs. This means that a majority of people in the world are trying the same fashions and trends, and ultimately, we are losing our culture and unique identities.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate that international media definitely help us to reduce prejudice among nations and help us to gain knowledge in different languages as well as in different cultures. However, I believe that its merits outweigh its demerits owing to the fact that it would bring significant amounts of threats to one country’s culture and a threat to our identities; those factors are unavoidable aspects of our humanity.