Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, a pencil, or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is the decline in writing by hand a positive or negative development?

In recent years, it has become obvious that people are writing by hand using a pen, pencil, or brush less and less these days which is widely regarded as a topic of concern for the whole society. There are a number of problems that people suffer as a result of this topic. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measure.

On the one hand, there are several underlying reasons explaining why people no longer use pen, pencil or brush as much as before. The main culprit in this phenomenon seems to be the strong development of information technology. The popularity of typing devices, the invention of advanced electronic gadgets such as laptops, the transition from voice to word devices, and so on are some reasons. Additionally, aesthetics is prioritized since computer writing tends to be more even, elegant, clear, and easier to exhibit or erase than handwriting. Due to the fact it meets people’s needs for convenience and aesthetic that is the reason why reducing the need for traditional handwriting.

On the other hand, the decreasing practice of handwriting has both positive and negative aspects. While handwriting is efficient for quick and correct information exchange, it also showcases an individual’s style and personality. However, this practice diminishes the traditional beauty of handwriting, which is one of the greatest drawbacks of using technology to write instead of writing by hand.

This trend highlights the need for a balance between technology and traditional writing methods.

To sum up, the decrease in handwriting can be ascribed to two reasons, which is the development of advanced information and the people’s demand. Besides that, finding a balance between the two forms can be beneficial for better communication and connection.