Finding job satisfaction is considered to be a luxury in many developing countries. Why do you think that is? Do you think job satisfaction is important?

Although all of us is seeking job satisfaction, few of us is considered lucky, particularly in developing countries where despite its importance, job satisfaction is pushed to the background due to economic factors.

This can be explained by dissatisfaction with all other primary needs which are of a higher priority compared to job satisfaction. The population of pre-industrial countries has no other choice than to satisfy its psychological and safety needs first, and only after that citizens can think about job satisfaction. Getting pleasant and attractive work mainly is affordable in case of financial stability and it requires financial losses for the first period of time. For instance, in Armenia and in almost all post-Soviet countries, the average work class employee probably won’t hesitate to work hard and at not so pleasing job to be sure that he and his family is full and safe and will think about changing his employment sector to something more thrill when he will not be afraid of some of his accumulated wealth.

Job satisfaction is important in the aspect of benefits it provides, particularly increases in productivity is the case. A person who has no reason to complain about the job is more effective and approaches his job more seriously and creatively. He can spend hours on work without even getting worn out of it. Writing about this, I always remember a friend of mine who used to be a clerk at the office and was always described as a sluggish person, but after selling his car and becoming a software engineer using the money gained from the sale, everybody who knows him was amazed at his passion toward the new job.

Hence, no matter how many financial constraints and lack of resources will interfere, everyone should strive for achieving job satisfaction.