First impressions are important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing a good job? To what extent do you agree?

It is often said that ‘First impression is the last impression’. In the case of interviews, I believe, it is somewhat true. From walking into a room to sitting down, an interviewer percepts all the aspects of the interviewee. However, I partly agree to this, as the selection of the candidate depends on various factors but the interview cannot also be ignored. In this essay I will try to explain that the key to a good job is not always an interview but it depends on other significant aspects also.

During an interaction with a potential employee an interviewer assesses minute details of the behaviour to their resume. For example, the way a person enters the room or the manner of speaking, the assessor notes down everything. Moreover, the grades and other academic achievements are also considered while recruitment. Students with higher grade are preferred over those with less scores regardless of their interactive proficiency. This is because, it is in established motion that students with more marks are more intelligent.

Occasionally, job seekers inspite of their low grades ace an interview. This is the perhaps, the art of leaving a great impression is independent of an individual’s marksheet. Some jobs, like in the field of marketing or journalism, speaking skills and confidence of the candidate is a more importance. Therefore, the evaluator judges the respondent in depth. That is why, it is generally considered that impressions are necessary.

To conclude, it would not be wrong to say that first impressions are important, but at the same time the performance and educational grades are considered equally fundamental. Having said that, the effectiveness of interviews can not be neglected.