Freshwater is a limited resource in certain regions of the world. Today, the escalating demand has transformed it into a global problem. What are the causes of increasing demand? What measures can governments and individuals take to respond to the problem?

Recent years have witnessed a scarcity of drinkable water in some parts of our planet due to the growing worldwide demand. There are two main reasons behind this social problem and preventative measures should be taken to tackle this problem.

There are two underlying factors that contribute to the exacerbation of this difficult situation. The first reason could be the misappropriation when using fresh water. For example, most of us have the habit of not turning off the faucet even if it is not in use. As a result, a considerable amount of water has been wastefully used. The second reason might be attributed to the disposal of sewage and some sorts of chemicals that polluted fresh water. For instance, many factories let off unprocessed sewage for the sake of their profits which leaves the natural habitats severely damaged.

According to those two aforementioned reasons, there are two possible solutions that could address the issue to some extent. Initially, the responsibility of limiting the amount of water that a household is allowed to use falls on the government. To be more specific, it helps the government to limit the residential use of water. Secondly, the water filter technology should be updated to facilitate the extraction of all types of chemicals. Therefore, used water could be recyclable to cater to high demand of freshwater in modern society.

In conclusion, the insufficiency of fresh water has posed many challenges to society. However, with the right approach, such problems could be mitigated.