Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. Do you Agree or Disagree?

In the era of modern society, people naturally spend more time on social media platforms than in the physical world, and then connect with and make friends with acquaintances whom they meet online. However, some people assert that friendships in such virtual world lack meaning. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement for some reasons.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that friendships that take place online can bring about numerous outstanding advantages, although it frequently judged as superficial. According to a survey in the UK, the younger generation, especially those in the age between 15 and 18, prefers building relationship with their well-matched acquaintances, meaning that they are get on like a house on fire with those on social media, merely because of the similarity of hobbies and habits. Take my younger sister as an example, she love connecting and chatting with people from all corner of the world, of any age group, of any gender. She acclaimed that such a relationship not only made her more confident and comfortable, but also allowed her to interact with people from diverse backgrounds.

On the other hand, it seems that face-to-face interaction is much more advantageous for personal enhancement. In fact, numerous scientists have proven that everyone can have a shoulder to cry on when they make relationships with others in the real world. That means they are able to share daily stories, receive meaningful advice from their soulmates, and hence become better. For example, when I went out of my comfort zone to get around Southeast Asia, a period that enhanced my resilience and life skills, I burned out and was disappointed initially, my close friend was my motivator, supporter, who conveyed energy and determination to me to complete my goal.

In conclusion, after carefully observing both sides of the coin, I firmly believe that although virtual friends can facilitate connecting with people at a click of a mouse, real friends or face-to-face interaction will be much more helpful to all parties involved.