Genetic engineering is a dangerous trend. It should be limited. To what extent do you agree?

In contemporary society, an important issue is whether the science of genes should be restricted to a minimum, and some people think that this type of engineering is too risky. To a certain extent, I agree that it has a long-term unsafe impact on society and nature. However, I also believe that it has emerged as a powerful tool with the potential to develop fields like medicine and agriculture.

On the one hand, despite these advantages, genetic engineering poses significant risks that cannot be overlooked. Firstly, it alters an organism’s genetic makeup; as a result, genetic modification is triggered, and it can lead to unpredictable changes in an organism’s physiology and behavior, potentially creating new diseases or environmental hazards. Secondly, it is used as a biological weapon in developed countries, and now the situation is out of control. For example, there is doubt that COVID-19 can be an example of a biological weapon.

On the other hand, there is evidence that genetic engineering has substantial privileges for mankind. One of them is that in medicine, it has led to the development of gene therapies that can treat, or even cure genetic disorders. For instance, a health organization report in March 2016 showed that a large proportion of drugs are produced using genetic engineering. Furthermore, it is used to produce crops that are more resistant to insects and diseases and increase food production around the world. Consequently, this means that more harvests are guaranteed, so that more people can be fed. Additionally, it can aid in identifying the age of certain findings particularly, in the case of an archaeologist, and age is calculated more accurately and easily.

In conclusion, although I admit that genetic engineering has adverse sides, I think that it gives an opportunity to solve a number of issues for the community in various fields, namely, medicine and agriculture.