Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion?

Some people argue that genetic engineering will contribute to the betterment of humans’ lives, while others contend that this avant-garde technology can threaten creatures on Earth. While the cutting-edge invention can do wonders to human capability, I believe that it may lead us to deviate from our natural state and spawn many lifestyle abnormalities.

On the one hand, we are given the choice over our own physical characteristics. Genetic engineering can help us obtain physical capabilities that plastic surgery cannot do till this day, such as enhancing muscles, lengthening bones, curing disabilities or fending off birth defects. Therefore, a physical advantage is bestowed on everyone so people don’t need to spend a slew of their time worrying about appearance or physical abilities. The same goes with our food, we can choose its characteristics to our liking. Natural food can be made more delicious, bigger, juicier, or added nutrients. A notable example is tofu from Asian countries. Extensive genetic engineering procedures are applied to the plant to increase their size and yield, and in turn boosting farmers’ incomes.

On the other hand, genetic engineering can be perilous to human health. The techniques used in this technology is not yet proven to be satisfactorily safe, so they pose some irredeemable health risks on the patients. Furthermore, genetic engineering alters the natural components of fruits, nuts or veggies, causing them to have potential toxicants. Some research even suggests that genetically modified products can induce diseases that are immune to antibiotics, as foreign genes, bacterial and viral vectors, and viral promoters are installed into food for the first time.

In conclusion, genetic engineering has both positive and negative implications on human life. Personally, I am of the opinion that the technology does more harm than good owing to its unverified safety level and introduction of unexplored genes and bacteria into edibles.