Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion?

People have different views about the significant of genetic engineering in societies. While Some people are of the opinion that this development is a potential threat to life on our planet, I believe that genetic science has several positive effects on individual’s lives in various aspects.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why some people are against genetic engineering. Firstly, scientists are able to modify particular genes of some crops which have become resilient to disease and natural predators. Therefore, this modification might cause irreparable damages the whole ecosystem. For example, in the Unites States, American scientists have managed to produce genetically modified crops that release a toxin to kill certain insects and this intervention leads to disappearance of birds that feed on those insects. Secondly, with the help of genetic engineering human being could be cloned and these super human being can be used in military purposes. For example, government can use these creatures as an unbitable soldiers in the war to fight brutally.

On the other hand, I maintain that using genetic engineering is highly beneficial to humans especially if it is used in a responsible way. From the food production perspective, genetic engineering is the solution to famine in some in the third world countries. For example, crops are grown more reliably in harsh conditions. From a medical point of view, scientists are able to use this technology to produce vaccines, to cure diseases or to correct a genetic defect before a child is born. If using genetic engineering properly regulated even cloning can be done in way that improves lives. For example, the cloning of individual’s organs, heart and kidney for instance, can be used for transplant purposes.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that genetic engineering have numerous positive effects on our lives.