Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion?

Nowadays genetic engineering is considered to be the topic for a discussion.While some people have positive attitude towards the issue, I personally believe that drawbacks overweigh the benefits.

On the one hand genetic engineering can benefit humans in variety of areas.Firstly,pesticides and fertilizers are becoming an essential part of modern farming due to its effectiveness in increasing productivity. Genetic engineering can be a great solution for farmers who suffer from weeds damaging crops,fruits as well as vegetables. GMO fruits and vegetables are more resistance to different diseases, some can have more nutrition and look more attractive compared to natural products. Using pesticides and fertilizers can also kill the weeds- greatest enemies of good harvest. Another sphere where genetic engineering can be applied is medicine. By means of genetic engineering scientists today make vaccines and some medications against incurable illnesses such as cancer. For example, vaccines against covid 19 was also developed with the help of genetic engineering.

On the other hand, genetic engineering cause major problems in a long term scale due to several reasons. Firstly, there is no enough evidence about safety of gmo products. Some researches show the connection between consumption of gmo products and some serious diseases, like allergic reactions and even cancer. Moreover, the prevalence of natural products over genetically modified ones are obvious, just because the latter ones are considered to be toxic. It is also seen in demand of people for more natural fruits and readiness of consumers to pay more to buy gmo free products. Another threat of genetic engineering is its devastating effect on animals and on earth in general. Scientists, today genetically modify some animal species in order to get desired breeds, rising the risk of extinction the existing pure animals. It will seriously impact on ecosystem changing the natural cycle of animals therefore people’s too. Furthermore, further negative effects of genetic engineering are under investigation and are unpredictable, which makes people be anxious about the issue even more.

In conclusion, genetic engineering can be beneficial in different spheres of people’s lives, however the disadvantages of gmo products should not be ignored.