Government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

People’s opinions are divided into whether money should be spent on raising the general level of health or preserving our environment. From my perspective, government funding should invested in both medical research and environmental protection.

There are many reasons why I argue that funding for medical research is extremely essential. The key reason is that it can have numerous impacts on human health. By investing in medical studies, scientists are offered enough technology and infrastructure to discover innovative medical treatment methods to deal with serious diseases. This directly benefits the health and well-being of citizens in the short and long term. In addition, advances in medical research lead to economic growth through healthcare savings. If the general level of public health is improved, the number of labor forces soar, resulting in increased productivity.

On the other hand, I also advocate the government spending on protecting the environment. Firstly, environmental degradation such as air and water pollution is responsible for public health risks such as cancers, tuberculosis, and other dangerous diseases. For example, in 2018, it was estimated that nearly 100 residents in a small village in the northern mountain of Vietnam died because of water pollution. Therefore, focusing on environmental preservation plays an integral part in ensuring public well-being. Secondly, such activity contributes to protecting endangered species as one of the main reasons leading to animal extinction is the loss of habitats which results from deforestation and climate change.

In conclusion, taking the aforementioned arguments into consideration, it seems to me that spending on medical research and environmental protection are equally important.