Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it? Cause/reason:

Homelessness, one of the major urban crises rising around the world, is caused by insufficient incomes and unaffordable accommodation. While an increasing number of people experience displacement, I contend that a multifaceted approach is essential.

Owing to low incomes and high housing costs, many individuals living in major cities face residential problems and become homeless. During the COVID-19 pandemic, some employees were forced to accept decreased salaries, take unpaid leave and suffer from unemployment, exacerbating their inability to afford housing. Unfortunately, this difficulty did not ameliorate even after the pandemic subsided, compelling them to live on the streets. Moreover, homeless people often contribute to various social problems, such as drug addiction and rising crime rates, which result in aggravated gentrification and displacement of low-income communities.

To effectively mitigate the homelessness issue and implement practical housing policies, charities and city governments are taking both short-term and long-term measures. A notable example is the ‘Do You a Flavor Organization,’ which assists homeless individuals in reintegrating into society. By providing short-term shelter, meals, and emotional support, these people might feel a sense of belonging and self-worth, motivating them to improve their lives. On the other hand, the Taiwanese government has introduced a new housing policy to prevent construction companies from artificially inflating housing prices, especially for pre-sale homes. However, this innovative approach apparently has brought temporary impacts on housing turnover and expenses, which need further support to consolidate its accomplishments.

In conclusion, I suggest that imbalanced incomes and unaffordable housing are the primary causes of homelessness and its resultant social problems. Therefore, we need a comprehensive measure, implemented by charities and city governments, to address these issues effectively.