Housing is a basic necessity for everyone. Therefore, government should provide free housing for people who cannot afford to pay it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that governments should provide people who are unable to buy a house themselves with free accomodation as it is an important factor of life. While I accept that this idea has some benefits, I do believe that it comes along with some potential drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are some convincing reasons why governments should be responsible for their communities’ housing. Some countries in fact have citizens from poorer backgrounds, who sruggle throughout their lives – saving every single penny – to simply buy a house. These people might be suffering from malnutrion or some health diseases as they will most probably have a little money to spend on this. If governments ook responsibility regarding the problem of homeessness in their own communities, they could improve these people’s lives, so that they will instead alocate money more effectively to food, clothing and education: enhancing their quality of life. Furthermore, the country may reap the benefits in the long run, as this adds up to a better generation overall.

On the other hand, if governments supplied everyone with free apartments, some other problems would definetely arise. Firstly, in an age of equity and preserved rights, everyone vies for this great opportunity. As a result, riots may take place and then get quite serious. Secondly, this scheme may come at a huge cost, and thus it would be a financial burden for an average country with low economy. Finally, when people set goals and work hard towards buying a house or a car, life would become meaningless for them with the provision of free houses.

In coclusion, although I understand that free accomodation is beneficial for citizens, it seems to me that this will lead to negative consequences.