Housing is essential for people. Some argue that the government should offer free housing for people who cannot afford it. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Having a place to live is a big relief for many people. As a result, some believe that the authorities should provide housing to those citizens who cannot obtain it for themselves. I completely agree that the governing body should consider them as it will improve the economy and reduce crime.

To commence with, providing homes by government to destitute could help enhance the financial status of the country. That is to say, when these individuals are taken off the streets, they would be protected from harsh weather conditions which could breed communicable diseases. Consequently, reducing the amount spent on disease control and cure, and making funds available for more important things in the community. In addition, these sects could also start small-scale businesses in the homes, invariably improving the finance sector of the nation. For instance, the Times Newspaper reported that 58% of fund used for disease prevention has now been used in infrastructure development since the government of Nigeria stated catering for the homeless. Indeed, construction of houses is beneficial to both parties.

Another point to consider is the fact that this action will help reduce crime rates. In other words, since people would be cleared from the roads and would no longer be desperate about where to sleep, it would be safe to walk around in society since there would be no one to bother others. Moreover, it will mean that these people will be guaranteed a place to lay their heads at night and not resort to robbery to make ends meet. Moreover, having a place to relax provides the opportunity to reminisce and create, thereby not having a reason to engage in illegal activities. For example, the Chinese government achieved a 78% reduction in crime when the authorities decided to build houses for low-income people.

To conclude, when the government builds houses for the less privileged, they will be able to engage in profitable business that will help the economy and the level of criminal activities will decrease as they will have enough space to think about how to alleviate their situation through legal means.