If a product is good or it meets people's needs, people will buy it so advertising is unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that good products that have already been exposed to the desires of customers do not need to be advertised. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with this statement, and this essay will discuss why.

Of course, one might argue that it is essential to invest in advertising for good products that meet customer needs. It is true that, due to the dearth of information, consumers used to be confused about choosing good items that had both quality and affordability. The advertising can provide insight into goods for the customers, meaning that people can easily compare the prices and quality and choose what suits them the most. However, good products, which have already reached customer needs, are usually well known in the commodity market, leading to the unnecessariness of the comparison between different products.

To add more credibility to my assertion, I note that advertising is not only unnecessary in this case, but it also has some drawbacks, on both environmental and social levels. Regarding the former, buyers use advertisements with the effort to urge a higher consumption rate, meaning that more waste, which stems from the requirement to operate advertising websites or transportation, will be produced. From a social perspective, advertisers are very good at persuading people to buy more and more, even if they do not have real needs for the items. Given this, buyers neglect the essence of advertising, leading to a decline in sales morale and missing the belief of consumers in the buyers.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge the value of advertisement as it can bring some insights into the product so that people can compare the value and quality and decide the best option, it would cause some disadvantages relating to the environment and society.