If a product is good or it meets people's needs, people will buy it so advertising is unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, there has been a growing belief that there is no need for a company to promote a product through advertising if it meets the customers’ demands. While acknowledging the rationale behind this perspective, I still disagree with this as advertising plays a vital role in the success of a product.

On the one hand, proponents of advertising being unnecessary may emphasize that for some certain products such as technology devices, customers tend to go to physical stores and check them out. For instance, Apple – one of the largest technology corporations and famous for their devices, does not invest much in advertising. Furthermore, in the internet age, customers can search the internet for products that meet their needs and see other customers’ comments on it with just a click. Therefore, they can choose their products within a second.

On the other hand, one might contend that advertising is still necessary as it can make customers aware of the existence of the products. No matter how good the products may be, if people are not aware of it, they cannot buy it. Moreover, advertising helps build a brand image and trust among customers. A successful advertising campaign not only showcases the product but also establishes the reputation of the brand. As a result, customers will associate these brands with quality and are more likely to buy their product.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for advocating for the unnecessaryness of advertising, I would contend that advertising is a vital factor to the success of both the product and the brand.